Dominion Gives More Than $1 Million to Charitable Groups Meeting Critical Community Needs

- Focus is on shelter, access to health care, and food security in regions served by Dominion

- Grants to be shared by 140 organizations in 13 states

Nov 21, 2016

RICHMOND, Va., Nov. 21, 2016 /PRNewswire/ -- Dominion Resources will once again mark the holiday season by providing more than $1 million in grants to help feed, shelter and care for people across communities where the company operates. Donations will be shared by 140 non-profit organizations that provide critical community services in 13 states. This is the second year that Dominion has given more than $1 million in Critical Community Needs grants through its charitable arm, the Dominion Foundation. 

"While the Dominion Foundation works year-round to support worthy charitable causes, these grants are earmarked for programs that deliver basic necessities such as shelter, nutritious meals and medical care, to people in need," said Thomas F. Farrell II, chairman, president and CEO of Dominion Resources. "It is especially fitting during the holidays to support organizations that are improving lives and building greater stability in the places we call home."

In total, $587,000 in grants will go toward feeding those in need, $273,000 for providing shelter and $267,500 for medical care.

Examples of this year's grant recipients include:

  • The Arlington, Va., Free Clinic for its Community Bridge program, connecting patients to vital advanced medical diagnostic and treatment at no-/low-cost.  
  • The For Kids emergency shelter for homeless families in Norfolk.
  • FeedMore, Inc., in Richmond, for distribution of healthy food in 34 Central Virginia localities.
  • The Greater Cleveland (Ohio) Food Bank for its holiday food campaign.
  • Calvert Hospice in Prince Frederick County, Md., for its Burnett Calvert Hospice House.

Eligible organizations in Connecticut, Maryland, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming were encouraged to apply for grants of up to $50,000 each. More than 300 applications were considered, with selections made based on an organization's demonstrated ability to serve communities, meet basic human needs, and prevent future need.

Dominion (NYSE: D), headquartered in Richmond, is one of the nation's largest producers and transporters of energy. The Dominion Foundation is dedicated to improving the physical, social and economic well-being of the communities served by Dominion companies, including Dominion Virginia/North Carolina Power, Dominion East Ohio, Dominion Hope, Dominion Transmission, Dominion Carolina Gas Transmission, Millstone Power Station in Connecticut and Dominion Questar in Utah and Wyoming. Dominion and the Dominion Foundation support nonprofit causes that meet basic human needs, protect the environment, promote education and encourage community vitality. For more information about Dominion and the Dominion Foundation, visit www.dom.com.

SOURCE Dominion Resources

For further information: Connecticut: Ken Holt, 860-440-0132, kenneth.a.holt@dom.com; New York/Pennsylvania: Frank Mack, 804-771-3141, frank.mack@dom.com; North Carolina: Bonita Harris, 757-857-2700, Bonita.B.Harris@dom.com; Maryland: Karl Neddenien, 410-286-5749, karl.r.neddenien@dom.com; Ohio: Tracy Oliver, 216-736-6219, tracy.a.oliver@dom.com, Neil Durbin, 216-736-6239, neil.j.durbin@dom.com; South Carolina: Kristen Beckham, 803-873-0972, Kristen.M.Beckham@dom.com; Utah/Wyoming: Darren T Shepherd, 801-558-4460, Darren.Shepherd@dom.com; Virginia: Central/Western: Janell Hancock, 804-771-6115, Janell.Hancock@dom.com, Eastern: Bonita Harris, 757-857-2700, Bonita.B.Harris@dom.com, Northern: Chuck Penn, 703-796-9308, Charles.Penn@dom.com; West Virginia: Christine Mitchell, 304-889-3852, Christine.Mitchell@dom.com; Wisconsin: Richard Zuercher, 304-920-5231, Richard.Zuercher@dom.com


Print Email RSS
print email rss
Get Social