Dominion Gives $1 Million to Community Organizations That Provide Housing, Food and Medical Care

- Grants to be shared by 119 organizations in 12 states

- Focus is on meeting critical community needs for shelter, access to health care, and food security in regions served by Dominion

Nov 23, 2015

RICHMOND, Va., Nov. 23, 2015 /PRNewswire/ -- Dominion Resources announced today that it is providing $1 million in grants through its charitable foundation to help feed, shelter and care for people in need across 12 states this holiday season. Donations will be shared by 119 non-profit organizations that are providing essential community services in areas of housing, food security, medicine and medical services. The Critical Community Needs grants will be awarded by the Dominion Foundation. 

"The grants will support proven programs that provide the basic necessities we all need to survive and thrive, such as safe shelter, nutritious meals and medical care," said Thomas F. Farrell II, chairman, president and CEO. "These essential programs strengthen the fabric of our communities by improving lives and providing hope for people in need."

Among the grant recipients:

  • A $5,000 grant to Family Promise of Greater Cleveland to guide families from homelessness into stable housing by guiding them through the process of securing and budgeting for affordable housing.
  • A $10,000 grant to Local Food Hub in Charlottesville, Va., for its "Fresh Farmacy," a partnership with three health clinics to provide families with a "prescribed" supply of fresh fruits, vegetables and eggs, along with recipes and educational programs to encourage healthy home cooking.
  • A $5,000 grant to Neighborhood Health Services in Alexandria, Va., for its mobile health unit, the "WOW Bus," which brings professional dental care to children in the Alexandria City Public Schools.

Eligible organizations in targeted areas of Connecticut, Maryland, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia and other areas within Dominion's footprint were encouraged to apply for grants of up to $50,000 each. More than 250 applications were considered, with selections made based on an organization's demonstrated ability to serve communities, meet basic human needs, and prevent future need for assistance.

Dominion (NYSE: D), headquartered in Richmond, is one of the nation's largest producers and transporters of energy. The Dominion Foundation is dedicated to improving the physical, social and economic well-being of the communities served by Dominion companies, including Dominion Virginia/North Carolina Power, Dominion East Ohio, Dominion Hope, Dominion Transmission, Dominion Carolina Gas Transmission and Millstone Power Station in Connecticut. Dominion and the Dominion Foundation support nonprofit causes that meet basic human needs, protect the environment, promote education and encourage community vitality. For more information about Dominion and the Dominion Foundation, visit www.dom.com.

SOURCE Dominion Resources

For further information: New England: Ken Holt, 860-447-1791, kenneth.a.holt@dom.com; New York/Maryland/Pennsylvania: Frank Mack, 804-771-3141, frank.mack@dom.com, Karl Neddenien, 410-286-5749, karl.r.neddenien@dom.com; North Carolina: Bonita Harris, 757-857-2700, Bonita.B.Harris@dom.com; Ohio: Tracy Oliver, 216-736-6219, tracy.a.oliver@dom.com, Neil Durbin, 216-736-6239, neil.j.durbin@dom.com; South Carolina: Kristen Beckham, 803-873-0972, Kristen.M.Beckham@dom.com; Virginia: Central/Western: Janell Hancock, 804-771-6115, Janell.Hancock@dom.com; Eastern: Bonita Harris, 757-857-2700, Bonita.B.Harris@dom.com; Northern: Chuck Penn, 703-796-9308, Charles.Penn@dom.com; West Virginia: Christine Mitchell, 304-455-4113, Christine.Mitchell@dom.com, Robert C. Orndorff, 681-842-3146, Robert.E.Orndorff@dom.com


Print Email RSS
print email rss
Get Social